Sandi, You Are My Hero

Image

“A hero is an ordinary individual who finds the strength to persevere and endure in spite of overwhelming obstacles.” -Christopher Reeve

After testifying in an Article 32 in April of 2011 against a man who chose to rape me, an amazing woman said I was her hero.  I knew that pursuing legal justice would be difficult but was determined to persevere and do my duty in preventing him from repeating atrocities towards other women.

At the moment when she said I was her hero,  I questioned if I could handle the deep feelings of disheartedness that came with it.

2 year mark from the incident.  So many overwhelming obstacles, so many tears and disappointments.  The good news is that I have not let this incident define my life or my future.  I have struggled and yet I have grown into a more passionate advocate and resilient woman.

These flowers today are from the same woman who called me her hero so long ago.  I am extremely thankful for the love and support I have received from her and others who have played  a vital role in this healing journey.

2 thoughts on “Sandi, You Are My Hero

  1. Sandi,
    This is beautiful. You are a hero. Staff from the PC office in Peru sent me flowers on the 1 anniversary of my rape on the 18th and helped me make it a special day. I wanted you to know that by you proceeding with the legal process and becomig a part of your own story helped me share mine in a way that Peruvian media never could and knowing that there was someone out there who procicuted gave me the courage to continue with mine…28 years without parole

    Mary Kate Shannon
    Peru 17:D Sending you much love and fuerza

    • Mary Kate,
      I am soooo proud of you!!! You are a brave and courageous woman for pursuing legal justice. (If I read that correctly and may have slightly helped in any way, that simply warms my heart and makes me slightly tear up). The fact he was convicted and is now unable to traumatize other women in the community for 28 years is simply due justice!! I’m very thankful for the Peru PC office and for making you feel special, for you are. If you are ever in DC, get a hold of me. First I will give you a hug, then a high five, and we will end with a celebration.

      Cheers!
      Sandi

Leave a Reply

