1 Month, 1 Day

Until the plane leaves from Indianapolis to begin the trip to Kolkata with Word Made Flesh.  The last couple of months have been busy with getting ready both mentally and physically. 

To become mentally prepared, we were required to read:

1.) The Jesus I Never Knew by Philip Yancey.  It explains the historical significance of Jesus’ life, what was going on during the times, and really helped explain why Jesus did what he did in an educated format. 

2.) In the Name of Jesus by Henri Nouwen.  He explained how the future Christian leaders are called to be completely  irrelevant and to stand in this world with nothing to offer but his own vulnerable self.  How we will face hardships and how important it is to travel this journey with others.

3.) City of Joy by Dominique Lapierre.  This book captures the culture of Kolkata in an intense way.  Even with all the great poverty and sickness, you can see how God has his hand on the lives of others.  This book was also handy because it explained termonology and the history of India.

Physically, I had to go to the doctor and get checked.  Guess what?  I’m healthy!  After not going to the doctor for about ten years, this was actually rather refreshing.  For the Peace Corps, I’ve also had to get my eyes checked (I now have the cutest glasses that I use while driving late at night), and the dentist (great teeth, need wisdom teeth removed though. bleck.) I am very thankful that nothing serious health wise has happened in ten years and that my insurance kicks in in time to get the wisdom teeth pulled before India.

My passport only took about a week after filling out the paperwork and the pictures inside are rather nifty. I received a visa to India last week as well so I’m all set in that department.

It is all slowly coming together and I am not only excited, but maybe a little nervous because of the recent happenings in India. Granted, the bombings have been in the business district, like our New York, rather than Kolkata.

Please pray for the teams safety as we travel and for Beth, Kyle, and those already there that are preparing for us to arrive. Also, please pray with me for the financial part of going overseas. With our economy and the way things have been lately, financial support raising has been rough. God doesn’t have money issues, so please pray that God will work on the hearts of individuals.

Thank you for your prayers and I’ll try to update this more often!

One thought on “1 Month, 1 Day

  1. Bev Cameron says:

    Hi Sandi,

    Sorry I did not get to see you when you were at RCC. Thanks for leaving the letter in my mailbox. I was so glad to get an update and to know how I could communicate with you. I am not able to send regular support but I put a small check in the mail this week to help out a bit. There are so many people and places I’d like to help.
    I will definitely be praying for you and will keep tabs on you. What a challenging, exciting and needful ministry you are embarking on. I so enjoyed having you in my home several times and I loved feeding you and all the staff. I still manage to do that off and on! Do keep us posted on your travels, ministry and needs. May God enrich you life and you reach out to others. Love you, Bev

Leave a Reply

