Holidays and Beyond…

I like the Frigid North- even if it is stinkin hot. I like the people up here. I like teaching the kids ‘Sandi Says’ (pronounced more like ‘Cindy Says’). I like the traditional food that is super cheap.  I like the sunsets.  I like how the stars seriously grew in numbers.  As much as I like it here, I do also like to get away for some adventure.

Let the adventure randomness begin…


Friends of Orphans closed on the 19th of December and I left the next day to begin the Holiday journey. I travelled to Kitgum to see Travis and Zach and one day I was pleasantly surprised by seeing Santa! He looked sharp in his red and white outfit, a giant bag with blown up soccer balls, two days worth of a five ‘clock shadow, staggering walk from alcohol, and a sweet truck following with more drunk people blaring Christmas music. I knew those rumors about Santa were true.


After Kiti, we traveled to Gulu and spent Christmas with Travis’s organizations accountants family. Vincent, Irene, and the kids were beautiful. Irene was an amazing cook and we helped when we could. Being able to sit on a real couch, electricity, and being around good people was so very relaxing.

On the 26th, we traveled out to Vincent’s mom’s village for Boxing Day. For some reason, every time I went and sat in the cooking hut, the women would say I was needed somewhere by the guys… being a visitor and trying to help out isn’t the easiest thing. I did get to try my hand at making the rice fly and catching it in the basket.

A little boy, about 3 years old, went up to his mom and while pointing at me said “Mom, all the men here get African wives.  I’m gonna marry her!”  He even said how he was going to ask his dad for permission.  Granted, after that point, he was too fearful to go anywhere near me and would run away if I started in his direction.  At the end of the day, I took a photo of all the kids and myself.  Although he allowed me to pick him up, I’m not really seeing much of a future together…  (the pic with the kids turned out really blurry, so I opted for this one)

In short,

 

Next, I traveled to Kampala where I met a friend before heading to Kasese. They had real cheeseburgers and they were mighty tasty.  I might have also done some haircutting.

A few other Peace Corps Volunteers met up with us on our way to Lake Edward. 

We spent New Year’s Eve and New Years at Pannafrique Hippo Resort eating fresh fish from the lake and posho and beans when we didn’t spend like spending much.  We went on a couple of boat rides, watched local musicians the second night, and had a swell time 🙂

Hopefully another photo post soon…

One thought on “Holidays and Beyond…

  1. Mindy Bagley says:

    Sandi,
    Thank you so much for your posts and your pictures. It sounds like things are going well for you. Know that you are thought of and spoken of with much love. You are in my prayers. Your comment about the stars reminded me of Psalm 19. Read it soon. It is one of my favorites. You do know that you are invited to come see us and we expect you to spend some time with us whenever you finally make it back to the good ole U.S.A.
    The Lord bless you and keep you,
    The Lord make His face to shine upon you and give you His peace.
    Love in Him,
    Mindy B.

Leave a Reply

