Dear Rwanda…

I just might have a slight crush on you.  The heavy fog flowing between your lush green mountains while traveling into your beautiful country in the early morning was simply beautiful.  Although you went through terrible times in 1994, your people have worked hard to recreate itself into a clean and dignified place.  Thank you for letting me explore your culture and land… even when my heart fills with sadness from visiting the genocide memorial sites.  You are proof that a country can change and that people don’t have to stay in a violent mentality. Although I am here for a short while this time around, I will return…

2 thoughts on “Dear Rwanda…

  1. dylan scott says:

    Hey Sandi –

    great to hear of you. I had wondered what you were up to. good to see that you’re still alive and all that. I don’t have a lot of time right now, but after I read a couple of your entries, I was reminded of something. There’s a book called the Zanzibar Chest by Aidan Hartley about your chunk of Africa during the 90’s. of course, it might be crap to you, but it is one of my favorites. I would send it to you, but like I said, it’s one of my favorites. anyway – take care of yourself. will try to catch up more when I have a couple.

    • Dylan! Peace Corps is what I’m up to these days. I haven’t read Zanzibar Chest but sounds like I should since I’ll hopefully make my way over there within the next year or so. How’s it going with good ol’ BV? Glad to know you are still around!

Leave a Reply

