How Does the U.S Government Handle Sexual Assault Abroad?

http://www.cosmopolitan.com/politics/news/a33849/how-the-united-states-government-handles-rape-overseas/

I wasn’t expecting to find this type of article about sexual violence and assault in a Cosmo magazine.

Please support your friends when they say your help is needed.  The aftermath of my own sexual assault was extremely overwhelming.  Supportive individuals along the way made a huge difference in my well-being and ability to seek legal justice.

I didn’t have experience navigating the civilian legal system and was completely clueless about the military’s system (which was like learning the laws of a different country).  Women reach out to me that I don’t even know about their experiences of being assaulted either while abroad or with the military.  Determined to be supportive, I have been able to advocate on behalf of them at different levels.

Thankfully, I know some of the individuals in the mentioned agencies and I know there are people who are passionately trying to help individuals who have been sexually assaulted.

I wish we lived in an ideal world where people treated each other with respect and dignity rather than violate personal space and boundaries for personal gratification.  Until then, I will listen, learn, advocate, and take action where I can to prevent these injustices and keep those who commit them accountable.

Leave a Reply

